31 energy companies in the European Union, sanctioned

Photo by pride1979 on Pixabay

Reading time:<1 minute

Russia on Wednesday imposed sanctions on more than 30 companies in the European Union, the United States and Singapore in retaliation for sanctions imposed on it for its military offensive in Ukraine, AFP was quoted as saying by Agerpres.

According to the government decree, the list includes 31 companies, most of which belong to Gazprom Germany, the German subsidiary of the Russian giant, which the German state has placed under its control due to its strategic importance. Gazprom had announced its ‘withdrawal’ from the subsidiary in early April, without further mention.

The sanctions announced on Wednesday also target EuRoPol GAZ SA, the owner of the Polish part of the Yamal-Europa gas pipeline.

They include a ban on transactions and entry into Russian ports of ships linked to the companies concerned.

Western sanctions against Russia, some unprecedented, range from a freezing of foreign exchange reserves to an embargo on strategic products and financial sanctions, AFP said.