The first US president to win an Emmy for a

photo: patagoniachileadventures.com

Reading time: 2 minutes

Former President Barack Obama won the best narrator Emmy for Netflix’s documentary series “Our Great National Parks” on Saturday, becoming the first US president to win the award for a film in the running.

The Obamas’ production company, Higher Ground, is behind this five-episode series about national parks around the world, according to Digi24.

After leaving the White House in 2017, the former president and his wife Michelle founded the production house Higher Ground and struck a deal with Netflix said to be worth tens of millions of dollars. In fact, the Netflix company congratulated the former president in a tweet for the Emmy award obtained, highlighting this first – the first president to receive an Emmy award in a competition.

Congrats to President Barack Obama who just became the first President to win a competitive Emmy for narrating Our Great National Parks pic.twitter.com/v86JNsyDGD

— Netflix (@netflix) September 4, 2022

The only president who still has an Emmy is Dwight Eisenhower, but he received an honorary award in 1956 for being the first president to hold a televised press conference.

Barack Obama competed in the “Best Narrator” category of the Emmy Awards with David Attenborough, Lupita Nyong’o and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. The Netflix series produced by the Obamas presents natural beauties from five continents including, for example, accounts of the reserves in Chilean Patagonia, but also in Indonesia.

The former president also has two Grammy awards, obtained for the audio versions of his memoirs “The Audacity of Hope” and “Dreams from My Father”. Barack Obama is thus halfway to becoming an “EGOT” – a person who has Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony awards, notes the BBC.

In 2020, he was also nominated for an Oscar with another production, American Factory, a feature-length documentary film.

Only 17 people have achieved “EGOT” status to date, including Mel Brooks, Whoopie Goldberg, Audrey Hepburn, Jenifer Hudson, Rita Moreno and John Legend.

The Emmy Awards ceremony will take place on September 13, but the winners of certain categories are announced in advance.